New CNF Board of Directors Brings Incredible Professional Expertise and Lived Experiences
New CNF Board of Directors Brings Incredible Professional Expertise and Lived Experiences

It is with great excitement that we announce the Child Neurology Foundation’s 2021-2022 Board of Directors, with the addition of five new board members, two new officers, and a new board president who all bring incredible professional expertise and new lived experiences to our organization’s leadership.

Anup Patel, MD, will be assuming his role as President and leading CNF for the next two years. Dr. Patel is the medical director of clinical outcomes, accreditation, and regulatory compliance at Nationwide Children’s Hospital and is the director of the complex epilepsy clinic, as well as an associate professor of Clinical Pediatrics and Neurology at The Ohio State University College of Medicine. He is board-certified in neurology with special qualifications in child neurology, neurophysiology, and epilepsy.

“I am honored to be stepping into the presidency at such an incredible time of growth for CNF,” said Dr. Patel.

“I’d like to take a moment to personally thank Dr. Pomeroy for his leadership over the past 2 years and especially through these challenging times during the COVID-19 Pandemic. I look forward to continuing this important work together with Dr. Pomeroy, Mr. Peters, and our board, as we work to ensure that all kids living with a neurologic condition can reach their full potential.”

We too thank Scott Pomeroy, MD, Ph.D., for his tremendous service as President over the past 2 years and look forward to his continued leadership on our board as Past-President.

The election of Stephen Peters as President-Elect is a historic milestone for the Child Neurology Foundation. It marks the first time the organization will have a non-physician as President.

Mr. Peters’ professional experience in business affords him insights into growing operations and strategic partnership conversations that will well serve CNF as the organization continues to grow. Moreover, his personal experience with caring for his daughter, Kyra, and now serving in her memory, brings an unparalleled caregiver experience to CNF’s top leadership position and symbolizes CNF’s core belief of the critical and equal importance of the family-medical professional partnership.

Shaun Hussain, MD, has served as CNF’s Secretary for the past 3 years and has been nominated for a second term in this position. Dr. Hussain’s thoughtful counsel and balanced presence on the Executive Committee have been invaluable, bringing insights from his clinical and research work.

Timothy J. Engel, CPA, begins his second year on the BOD and will serve as CNF’s Treasurer. Mr. Engel brings over 35-years of executive financial management experience, including serving as former CFO to the American Academy of Neurology and Public Radio International.

We are also thrilled to welcome the following new board members:

  • Sonika Agarwal, MBBS, MD, DNB, MNAMS, is a neurologist in the Division of Neurology at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, specializing in fetal and neonatal neurology. Dr. Agarwal is a mother of a child living with cerebral palsy.
  • Carol Macmillan, MD, specializes in the neurologic care of children with epilepsy, developmental delay, autism, and neurogenetic disorders at the University of Chicago.
  • John J. Millichap, MD, is a Pediatric Epileptologist and Adjunct Associate Professor of Neurology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.
  • Amaris Sanchez-Larragoity, PsyD, is a psychologist practicing in San Juan, Puerto Rico.
  • Rebecca J. Schultz, Ph.D., APRN, CPNP-PC, FAES, is a doctoral prepared clinical nurse practitioner from Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston; where her clinical interest is in epilepsy, ketogenic diet, Rett Syndrome, patient education, and transition of care.

These five new board members bring fresh perspectives and lived experiences the CNF Board of Directors requires, while also maintaining the bylaw requirement of having 51% of the board being comprised of child neurologists.

We would like to offer a heartfelt thank you to Sandra Cushner Weinstein, LCSW, PT, Tom Langan, MD, Ann Tilton, MD, Sue Yudovin, PNP, and Mary Zupanc, MD for their two terms of service.

Along with the newly elected board slate for 2021-2022, the board also elected an Honorary Director Chair (W. Donald Shields, MD), Honorary Director of Strategic Partnerships (Ann Tilton, MD), and Honorary Director of Philanthropy (Mary Zupanc, MD).

The new CNF Board of Directors assume their roles starting October 1, 2021.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart
Skip to content