Child Neurology Foundation CEO Amy Brin To Lead Epilepsy Leadership Council’s New Steering Committee
Child Neurology Foundation CEO Amy Brin To Lead Epilepsy Leadership Council’s New Steering Committee

The Child Neurology Foundation is pleased to announce that CEO and Executive Director Amy Brin is furthering her commitment to the pediatric neurology community and will be heading the Epilepsy Leadership Council’s steering committee as the newly elected chair.

The Child Neurology Foundation (CNF) is a national non-profit that works to support the whole child neurology community, connecting partners from all areas so those navigating the journey of disease diagnosis, management, and care have ongoing support from those dedicated to treatments and cures.

Amy Brin, MSN, MA, PCNS-BC has been working on behalf of children with special needs and their families for nearly two decades and stepped into the role of Executive Director of CNF in 2015. She accepts her role as chair of the Epilepsy Leadership Council steering committee starting immediately.

“I am incredibly humbled to have been elected Chair of the Epilepsy Leadership Council; and view it as an opportunity to serve my fellow epilepsy advocates as we charter a collaborative path forward to serve individuals and their families living with epilepsy,” says Brin.

“I look forward to working with the over 40 ELC members to bring forth a brighter tomorrow for our shared community. The ELC shapes the epilepsy advocacy landscape in our country, and I’m thrilled to be its biggest cheerleader in this pursuit. It’s go time!”

The ELC is a coalition of professional societies, patient advocacy organizations, and governmental agencies working together to develop and coordinate shared projects that will have a positive impact on the lives of individuals with epilepsy, focusing on those areas where working together produces greater efficiency and impact than working independently.

Brin will lead the new steering committee alongside Vice Chair Gabrielle Conecker, MPH of Wishes for Elliott and work with the following committee members:

  • Dave Clarke, MD (National Association of Epilepsy Centers)    
  • Beth Dean, MBA, MPA (CURE)
  • Brandy Fureman, PhD (Epilepsy Foundation)
  • Jennifer Burke (FamilieSCN2A Foundation)
  • Gabrielle Rushing, PhD (TS Alliance)

Immediate past chair Christianne Heck, MD, MMM, FAES, of the National Association of Epilepsy Centers will serve as an ex officio member of the steering committee.

“ELC grew out of the Institute of Medicine’s 2012 recommendation that epilepsy organizations collaborate to ensure that accurate educational materials and other information is easily accessible to a wide and diverse audience,” says Heck.

“Member organizations accepted that charge and expanded it in recent years. With Amy Brin’s and Gabi Conecker’s leadership, ELC is well-positioned to take its mission critical work on shared projects to the next level.”

Share on social media:

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart